Posted on

Time to Write?

I probably shouldn’t be writing this, because it’s a confession of failure, but I am finding it so difficult to get time to write. It reminds me of the essay we read in the beginning of the semester with the women who were busy housewives who not only felt they didn’t have time to write, but also that they didn’t have a space to call their own to write. I have the space, but with holiday hours at my job and papers, presentations, and other projects as the semester winds down, I feel like there’s no time! I know I have to make the time, but so far I have been not devoted as much time as I need. That is my new goal. No matter what, I must set aside at least 30 minutes a night for writing or it will never get done. Tomorrow I will start; this blog will be my testimony! My story isn’t going to write itself and it deserves to be finished! I may be scared that it will not come out as I planned, but not doing it is only making it all the more worse. Time to get my priorities in order!

About woodh2013

I'm the girl that's named after the famous city of lights and cameras, but am too shy to talk to the kid sitting next to me in class. I'm the girl that blasts opera while I commute to and from school, but is in the crowds of rock shows on Friday nights. I'm the girl who can't draw to save her life, but takes beautiful pictures. I'm the girl who worries about everything, even when things aren't so bad. I can't be put in a box, so you want to know more? Read my work.

6 responses to “Time to Write?

  1. tyviner

    Don’t think of it as failure. You only fail if you don’t keep trying. We’ve all got to find time to write and it’s a fight, more often than not. But personally I’ve found that we often make it more difficult than it needs to be. We think we need a big gap, an hour or more of true quiet and solace before we pick up the keyboard and settle into a great story. At least, that’s my problem often enough.

    Have you considered a word processor on your phone? I love mine. Writing doesn’t have take forever, it only takes the time required to scribble a few sentences.

    • woodh2013

      I’m sorry I took FOREVER to respond back, but yeah, now I’m even more upset because with school and work I still haven’t written everyday! I was so confident here, and it died 😦 lol Thank you for your kind words, I am often hard on myself when it comes to writing, so I sometimes have to remember to take it easy or I do just mess it all up. Lastly, I haven’t thought about a word processor on my phone. I don’t have an iPhone, I have an HTC, you think I still might have one or would I have to buy it as an exprensive app? Haha, okay, I sound crazy, like as if you have all the answers! Anyway, thanks for your comment 🙂 I hope my busy schedule and challenge of writing gets better!

  2. battlesj

    Im just having trouble finding inspiration due to life distractions

  3. I just get so tired by the time I get home ahah! I need like, a type writer to concentrate lol

    • woodh2013

      Now I know whats in that rolly backpack! I thought it was simply books and notebooks, but now I know you are concealing a typewriter! 😛 I bet the kids in the library really like you!

Leave a Reply

