Posted on

One Year Later

No power for 8 days, the iceboxes our houses became, and the unbelievable images of the destruction. Before last year, my dad and I always joked how NJ had a bubble around it, so a big storm would never hit us. I wish my dad and I would have been right because witnessing all the devastation that happened to our area was unbearable. My hometown is the small coastal community of South Amboy, and though the storm had not hit as hard as in areas, like Seaside, my town felt the blow. Fortunately, my house is on the complete opposite side of town, so it was unharmed. Other residents were not so lucky; my one friend even lost her entire house once it filled to the top with water. The day after the storm hit, my friends and I walked around to survey the damage and I couldn’t believe what we saw. It looked like a tornado had ravished the area overnight. Later in the week, when I traveled to a relative’s house that had power, the images of damage that were plastered on every new station blew me away. Could something like this really happen where I live? It all felt like a horrible nightmare. I remember how depressed I was after the fifth day of no power. It was just an inconvenience and we could have had it much worse. Yet, every time I went to turn on a light, only to realize the switch did nothing, the gravity of the situation would all come flooding back to my brain and the pictures of the destruction haunted me. There seemed to be no end in sight. However, the resulting actions that happened, after the shock of all the terrible damage had sunk in, were inspiring. So many people in communities were all coming together and helping their neighbors, someone was always there to lend a hand if necessary, and what truly astonished me was the people from other states and even internationally that came out to donate time, money, or services. True actions of kindness and humanity were occurring everywhere and that was the silver lining to the whole dark cloud that Sandy brought. What we should remember a year later is not how awful the storm was, but how great the people were. (All of these pictures were taken by me in my hometown the day after Sandy hit.)

2 responses to “One Year Later

  1. You really do have a knack for photography.

Leave a Reply

