Posted on

Confusion

I am still trying to understand what this blog is for. I have a grasp of it, but I am not sure if it is correct. I feel like it is supposed to be a place to record random bursts of creative inspiration as they come, but I am not certain that is correct.

Regardless, tonight, I have decided to use my blog to think about the two pieces we read for homework in Creative Writing—“On Keeping a Notebook” and “A Temporary Matter.” To be honest, “On Keeping a Notebook” was confusing to me. The style of the author’s writing made me feel like I was in a car that was traveling fast while making several unexpected turns. I did like the idea the author gave of making observations about the life in the way that you see them. I want to make it a point to do that more in my own life so I am not drained of ideas for characters and events as my writing progresses.

“A Temporary Matter” was a lot better than I was expecting it to be. I am not a fan of short stories, mostly because I feel as though I can never write one effectively. However, this piece was interesting. I liked the strained love of the distant married couple and how the reader was able to know why their relationship was failing, which tragically was the stillborn fate of their one and only child. I must confess, I did not like the ending though. I felt the author lead the reader into believing the relationship would last, only to make the couple’s relationship even tenser in the end by having the wife move out and the husband revealing a dark secret. All in all, I did like this short story more than most I have read.

As I look to the near future, I hope to pencil more time in to freewrite creatively. I miss the days when I had so much time to write when I wanted to. Now with school and a job, I find it difficult to even connect with friends. However, creative writing is now not merely a hobby, but a class and to get better, I have to work at it. Therefore, despite my insecurities, I must power through and find time to let my mind create with nothing more than a laptop and several keystrokes.

About woodh2013

I'm the girl that's named after the famous city of lights and cameras, but am too shy to talk to the kid sitting next to me in class. I'm the girl that blasts opera while I commute to and from school, but is in the crowds of rock shows on Friday nights. I'm the girl who can't draw to save her life, but takes beautiful pictures. I'm the girl who worries about everything, even when things aren't so bad. I can't be put in a box, so you want to know more? Read my work.

2 responses to “Confusion

  1. Holly, you are so right! This blog is your notebook and you are welcome to record any thoughts, bursts or epiphanies here.

Leave a Reply

